Puffco Peak Pro — Onyx
Puffco Peak Pro — Onyx is an e-rig. VapoChecker compares current offers from €441.65 (plus shipping) across 1 shop (as of Oct 16, 2026).Price basis: Item price excluding shipping and coupons
Pros
- App control with full customization
- Temperatures up to 340°C
- WPA compatible
- Huge accessory ecosystem
- 2-year warranty
Cons
- Premium price
- Concentrates only
- Non-replaceable battery
Puffco Peak Pro — Onyx — Price Comparison (1 shop) 327.04 €–573.21 €
Specifications
| Heating Method | Conduction |
| Device Type | Portable |
| Brand | Puffco |
| Power Source | Battery |
| Temperature Range | 204°C - 340°C |
| Heat-up Time | 20 seconds |
| Bluetooth | Yes |
| Warranty | 2 years |
| App Control | Yes |
| Water Pipe Compatible | View water pipe adapters |
| Session Mode | Session |
| Temperature Control | App Control |
| Material | Concentrates |
| Vapor Path | Ceramic |
| Battery Type | Internal |
| Replaceable Battery | No |
| Charging Port | USB-C + wireless (Qi) |
| Release Year | 2024 |
Compatible Accessories
Onyx is a color variant of the Puffco Peak Pro. Check the specific retailer listing to see whether the 3D or 3DXL Chamber is included: The color alone does not determine the kit contents.
The Puffco Peak Pro (current generation, sold as the “Peak Pro 3DXL” since August 2024) is Puffco’s flagship e-rig for concentrates: a Bluetooth-enabled base with water filtration that comes standard with the 3DXL Chamber—according to Puffco, it offers 78 % more bowl capacity and twice the vapor of the 3D Chamber. The base itself comes from the July 2023 redesign (Joystick Cap, Glass 2.0 with five perc slots, haptic feedback) and heats up in 20 seconds according to the manufacturer; Puffco publishes conflicting battery-life figures of 30 and 40 heat cycles per charge.
You can control four presets from 254 to 301 °C on the device, while the Puffco Connect App provides degree-by-degree profiles, Vapor Control, and Mood Lights. Anyone looking for the previous version with the smaller 3D Chamber can find it under Peak Pro (2023, 3D Chamber Kit). The Peak Pro is not designed for dry herbs.
See also: Peak · Pivot · Peak Pro V2 Pearl · Peak Pro
Quick Facts
- 3DXL Chamber included as standard: 78 % larger bowl and, according to Puffco, 2x more vapor than the 3D Chamber; available as an accessory since July 2023 and included in the kit since August 2024.
- 20-second heat-up time (Puffco); one test measured 18 seconds to reach the Peak preset.
- Four presets: Low 254 °C, Med 266 °C, High 277 °C, Peak 301 °C—adjustable degree by degree through the app.
- Heat cycles per charge: Puffco’s product specifications state up to 30 dabs, while the FAQ on the same product page states up to 40 depending on temperature and use. The support FAQ states about 30.
- Charging: USB-C (5 V / 2 A), fully charged in about 2 hours; Qi charging through the separately sold Power Dock.
- Warranty: 2 years for the base, 6 months for the 3DXL Chamber; glass excluded.
- Colors: Onyx and Pearl as standard colors (occasionally sold out in the Puffco store); limited editions Daybreak (2025) and Plasma (2026).
- No dosing capsules and no herbs—a concentrates-only device.
Source: The 3DXL Chamber, 20-second heat-up time, 2-hour charging time, Qi charging, and 2-year warranty are listed on Puffco’s Peak Pro 3DXL product page. Under “Full Specs,” it states up to 30 dabs per charge; the FAQ on the same page states up to 40, depending on temperature and use.
Verified Technical Specifications
| Feature | Value |
|---|---|
| Heating chamber | 3DXL ceramic, heating traces in the sidewalls, real-time regulation (Puffco) |
| Presets | 254 / 266 / 277 / 301 °C = 490 / 510 / 530 / 575 °F (Puffco, manual) |
| App range | Degree-by-degree adjustment (Puffco); approx. 204–327 °C, with Boost up to 340 °C (test: To The Cloud) |
| Boost Mode | +15 s, +18 °F (around 10 °C), adjustable in the app (Puffco) |
| Heat-up time | 20 s (Puffco); 18 s measured (test: To The Cloud) |
| Heat cycles per charge | Up to 30 dabs (Puffco, product specifications); up to 40, depending on temperature and use (FAQ on the same product page); about 30 heat cycles (Puffco, support FAQ); 35–40 sessions with the 3D Chamber (test: To The Cloud) |
| Battery | Li-ion, built in (Puffco); capacity not specified, 1,700 mAh in the 2020 model (test: Engadget) |
| Charging | USB-C 5 V / 2 A, approx. 2 h; Qi with separate Power Dock (Puffco) |
| Glass | Glass 2.0, borosilicate, 5 laser-cut perc slots (Puffco) |
| Warranty | 2 years for the base, 6 months for the 3DXL Chamber (Puffco) |
Source: The 490/510/530/575 °F presets, Boost Mode (+15 s, +18 °F), 5 V/2 A power-adapter requirement, and non-replaceable Li-ion battery are listed in the official Peak Pro 3DXL manual (PDF).
Generations and Variants
Puffco has listed the Peak Pro at the same product URL since October 2020, but has changed the device twice:
- 2020—Peak Pro (Original): Oculus Carb Cap, standard ceramic chamber, 30-second heat-up time, 1-year warranty, Bluetooth app, and Qi charging. The 3D Chamber arrived as an accessory in October 2021. Limited editions: Opal (2021), Indiglow (November 2021), Guardian (October 2022).
- 2023—“New Peak Pro” (often called “V2” by retailers): redesigned base with Joystick Cap, Glass 2.0 with five perc slots, 3D Chamber included as standard, 20-second heat-up time, and 2-year warranty. Editions: Desert (October 2023), Flourish (February 2024). Available from us as: Peak Pro (2023, 3D Chamber Kit).
- 2024—Peak Pro 3DXL (this page): the same base, now with a 3DXL Chamber and XL Joystick in the box; launched as a new product on August 20, 2024, in Onyx and Pearl. Editions: Daybreak with a gold 3DXL Chamber (June 2025), Plasma (July 2026).
“V2” is a retail name, not a Puffco name. According to Puffco, the 3DXL Chamber fits all Peak Pro models but requires current firmware; Puffco continues to sell the smaller 3D Chamber separately.
Source: The compatibility of the 3DXL Chamber with all Peak Pro models and the note “Requires updated firmware” appear on Puffco’s Peak Pro 3DXL Chamber product page.
3DXL Chamber and Heating Technology
The chamber is the heart of the Peak Pro. Puffco’s 3D technology places the heating traces in the ceramic sidewalls, not in the bottom; sensors regulate the temperature in real time, regardless of how hard you draw or how much material is in the bowl. According to Puffco, the 3DXL Chamber increases the size of this bowl by 78 % and delivers twice as much vapor—designed for larger loads and less reclaim.
It comes with the XL Joystick Cap, which you rotate while drawing to direct airflow over the concentrate; according to Puffco, it fits only the 3DXL Chamber. The deeper chamber is also intended to leave less reclaim in the airpath.
The chamber screws onto the base and can be replaced without tools. It is considered a wear part: Puffco provides a 6-month warranty; for atomizers in general, the warranty policy states an expected lifespan of 1 to 3 months depending on use. A replacement 3DXL Chamber is available separately, as is the smaller 3D Chamber that Puffco continues to offer for this device.
Source: The 78 % larger bowl, doubled vapor output, XL Joystick Cap, and XL level of Vapor Control are listed on Puffco’s Peak Pro 3DXL Chamber product page.
Temperature, Presets, and App
On the device, one click lets you choose between four presets listed with fixed values in the manual: Blue/Low 490 °F (254 °C) for maximum flavor and less vapor, Green/Med 510 °F (266 °C) as a middle ground, Red/High 530 °F (277 °C) for more vapor, and White/Peak 575 °F (301 °C) for maximum vapor production. The original 2020 model’s Peak preset stopped at 545 °F.
With the Puffco Connect App (Bluetooth, pairing by holding the button for 6 seconds), you can adjust each profile degree by degree—temperature, duration, and Vapor Control at the Standard, High, Max, and XL levels; the device enables the XL level only when a 3DXL Chamber is attached. A test by To The Cloud gives the adjustable range as 400 to 620 °F, with Boost up to 644 °F (around 204 to 340 °C); Puffco itself does not specify limits.
The device remains fully usable without the app. Anyone who wants to save custom profiles needs an app account; for iOS, Puffco directs users to the puffco.app web app in Path Browser, and for Android, to Google Play.
Source: The four presets with temperatures, the degree-by-degree adjustments in the app, pairing by holding the button for 6 seconds, and the Standard, High, Max, and XL Vapor Control levels are listed in the official Peak Pro 3DXL manual (PDF).
How Do I Charge the Battery Properly?
The battery is a built-in Li-ion battery that, according to the manual, you cannot replace yourself. Puffco does not specify its capacity; Engadget reported 1,700 mAh for the 2020 model, but there is no evidence that the 2023 base uses the same cell.
Puffco contradicts itself regarding battery life: The technical specifications on the product page state up to 30 dabs per charge, while the FAQ on the same page states up to 40, depending on temperature and use. The device comparison states around 40 heat cycles. The support FAQ states about 30 and warns that using Sesh Mode frequently drains the battery faster. One test achieved 35 to 40 sessions of 30 seconds each with the 3D Chamber; with the 3DXL Chamber, long draws consumed 3 to 4 % of the battery per hit. Three clicks show the charge level: Green (100–60 %), Yellow (60–30 %), Red (below 30 %).
Charging uses USB-C with a 5-V/2-A power adapter and, according to Puffco, takes about 2 hours. Wireless charging is available through the Peak Pro Power Dock (Qi), which is not included. With the Dock and app, you can activate Ready Mode: When you lift the device off the Dock, the selected profile starts automatically. Puffco does not document whether the device can continue to be used while connected by cable.
Source: The “about 30 heating cycles” figure, triple-click battery-level display, separately sold Qi charging dock, and Ready Mode are listed on the official Peak Pro support page.
Operation and Modes
A single button controls everything: Hold for 3 seconds to turn the device on or off, click once to change the preset, double-click to start the heat cycle, and hold to cancel. A pulsing light indicates heating; two flashes plus vibration signal “ready.” The standard cycle lasts 40 seconds and can be extended in the app.
- Boost Mode: Double-click once the temperature has been reached—adds 15 seconds and 18 °F (around 10 °C); time and temperature are adjustable in the app.
- Intensity Mode: Five clicks start a more intense cycle, which the manual says is for dry dabs without water.
- Stealth Mode: Four quick clicks turn off the LEDs.
- Ready Mode: Starts automatically when lifted off the Power Dock (app and Dock required).
Error codes according to the manual: four white flashes mean “no chamber” (the support FAQ says three white flashes), alternating red and white indicates a chamber error (clean it), 5 seconds of red indicates overheating, and three red flashes indicate an empty battery.
Source: The button controls, Boost, Intensity, and Stealth modes, and the error codes are listed in the official Peak Pro 3DXL manual (PDF).
Glass and Water Filtration
The Peak Pro Glass 2.0 consists of two nested blown-borosilicate chambers with a spiral design and five laser-cut perc slots. Fill it with water through the mouthpiece until the water level is just above the slots, always with the glass removed. Too much water flows into the lower section and must be removed before use; never store it with water in the glass.
The glass sits on the base without threads: To remove it, hold the base firmly and pull the glass forward; to attach it, align the intake opening with the chamber. Puffco sells Glass 2.0 separately, as well as Travel Glass, where turning the mouthpiece seals in the water, and Ryan Fitt Recycler Glass 2.0 as a recycler attachment. According to Puffco, Glass 2.0 also fits the current Peak. Puffco had the painted glass coating of limited editions tested according to ISO 10993-5 and 10993-10.
Source: The dual-borosilicate construction with spiral design, five laser-cut perc slots, and compatibility with Peak Pro and Peak are listed on Puffco’s Peak Pro Glass 2.0 product page.
How Do I Clean and Maintain My Vaporizer?
Puffco recommends carefully wiping out the still-warm chamber in circular motions with a cotton swab after every use. For deep cleaning, remove the XL Joystick, including the Jacket and Tether, unscrew the 3DXL Chamber from the base, and soak it in isopropyl alcohol (90 % or higher) for 20 minutes. Then let it air-dry completely—the chamber must never be rinsed with water.
The glass should also be soaked in isopropyl alcohol for 20 minutes, then rinsed thoroughly with water and allowed to dry completely before being placed back on the base. Clean the contacts and airpath on the base itself only with a cotton swab soaked in isopropyl alcohol; never submerge it. As a rule of thumb, Puffco recommends a thorough cleaning whenever the battery is empty. Red and white flashing indicates a chamber connection error: First clean the chamber and let it dry thoroughly; if a new 3DXL Chamber flashes this way immediately after unboxing, the firmware update is usually missing.
Source: The cleaning steps, rule of thumb for cleaning frequency, and help for red and white flashing are listed on the official Peak Pro support page.
Box Contents and Accessories
According to the manual, the box contains: Peak Pro base, 3DXL Chamber, XL Joystick Cap, Peak Pro Glass 2.0, dab tool, cotton swabs, and USB-C cable. Puffco’s product and comparison pages additionally list Dual Tools (5-pack) and the carrying case; a power adapter is not included, and the Power Dock is sold separately.
Compatible Puffco accessories include the Hot Knife as a heated dab tool, the Peak Pro Link, which connects the 3D or 3DXL Chamber to your own glass rig, replacement chambers in 3D and 3DXL, replacement Joystick Caps, Travel Glass, the Puffco Travel Case, and Ryan Fitt Recycler Glass 2.0.
Source: The box contents, including Dual Tools and the carrying case, as well as compatible accessories (Peak Pro Link, 3DXL Chamber, Travel Glass, Recycler), are listed on Puffco’s Peak Pro 3DXL product page.
Warranty and Support
Puffco provides a 2-year limited warranty for the base from the date of purchase, 6 months for the 3DXL Chamber, and only 1 month for the older 3D Chamber. Glass, normal wear, and accidental damage are excluded, as are devices purchased from unauthorized retailers or marketplaces such as Amazon and eBay. Opening the base immediately voids the warranty.
Claims are handled through [email protected] or the app, which Puffco says provides diagnostic data from the device; you need proof of purchase and an RMA number. A shipping label is provided only within the USA, and uncleaned returns incur a cleaning fee. The manual, Quick Start Guide, and videos are available on the support page.
Source: The warranty periods (2 years for new devices, 6 months for the 3DXL Chamber, 1 month for the Peak Pro 3D Chamber), marketplace exclusions, RMA requirement, and cleaning fee are listed in Puffco’s warranty policy.
Who It Is For and Alternatives
The Peak Pro 3DXL is aimed at users who want to vaporize large loads of concentrate at home with water filtration and fine control through an app, and who are prepared to account for a wear part (the chamber). Those who prefer smaller amounts are better served by the 3D Chamber—it fits the same device and remains available as the previous-generation kit: Peak Pro (2023, 3D Chamber Kit).
The Peak Pro is not suitable for dry herbs, liquids, or anyone looking for a pocket-sized device: Glass and water are part of the concept, and Puffco classifies it as a Connected E-Rig rather than a mobile device.
Source: Its classification as a “Connected E-Rig” with water filtration, an app, and an extra-large chamber appears in Puffco’s official device comparison chart.
Strengths and Weaknesses
Strengths
- Chamber heats from the sides with real-time regulation; XL bowl for large loads
- 20-second heat-up time, degree-by-degree profiles, and Vapor Control in the app
- Water filtration with five perc slots included as standard
- 2-year warranty for the base, extensive accessory ecosystem (Link, Hot Knife, glass attachments)
Weaknesses
- Chamber is a wear part with only a 6-month warranty
- Battery is built in, with no capacity specified by Puffco; battery-life figures (30 vs. 40 cycles) conflict
- Power Dock and power adapter not included
- Fragile glass; operation without water is not intended (except in Intensity Mode)
Source: The 20-second heat-up time, Bluetooth app, Qi charging, and laser-cut perc slots are listed on Puffco’s Peak Pro 3DXL product page. Battery life is stated inconsistently there: up to 30 dabs under “Full Specs,” but up to 40 in the FAQ.
More Puffco Vaporizers 4
Spec comparison
| Price from | 441.65€ · incl. shipping | 159.80€ · Code 3924 · incl. shipping | 356.88€ · incl. shipping | 208.77€ · Code 3924 · incl. shipping |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Portable | Portable | Portable | Portable |
| Heating | Conduction | Conduction | Conduction | Conduction |
| Temperature | 204°C - 340°C | 254°C - 310°C | 254°C - 302°C | 254°C - 285°C |
| Heat-up time | 20s | 25s | 20s | 25s |
| Battery | N/A | N/A | N/A | 1680 mAh |
| Weight | N/A | 275 g | N/A | N/A |
Green = better value
Open in full comparison →Yes. Since August 2024, Puffco has sold the Peak Pro only as the “Peak Pro 3DXL”: the same base as the 2023 redesign, but with a 3DXL Chamber and XL Joystick in the box instead of the smaller 3D Chamber.
Four presets: 254 °C (Low), 266 °C (Med), 277 °C (High), and 301 °C (Peak). In the Puffco Connect App, you can adjust each profile degree by degree; one test reports a range of about 204 to 327 °C, with Boost up to 340 °C.
Puffco’s product specifications state up to 30 dabs per charge, while the FAQ on the same product page states up to 40—depending on temperature and use. The device comparison states around 40 heat cycles, while the support FAQ states about 30. One test achieved 35 to 40 sessions with the 3D Chamber. According to Puffco, the battery reaches a full charge in about 2 hours through USB-C.
Yes, through Qi using the Peak Pro Power Dock. The Dock is not included and is sold separately; the app and Dock also enable Ready Mode.
Both heat through the sidewalls. According to Puffco, the 3DXL has a 78 % larger bowl, delivers twice as much vapor, and enables the XL Vapor Control level in the app. It fits all Peak Pro generations but requires a firmware update.
It is a retail name that Puffco does not use. It usually refers to the redesigned 2023 base (“New Peak Pro”) with a Joystick Cap and Glass 2.0, which was initially sold with the 3D Chamber and has been sold with the 3DXL Chamber since 2024.
No. The Peak Pro is a concentrates-only device; Puffco offers neither a dry-herb chamber nor dosing capsules for it.
After every use, wipe out the warm chamber with a cotton swab. For deep cleaning, soak the chamber and glass separately in isopropyl alcohol (90 %+) for 20 minutes; never rinse the chamber with water, rinse the glass thoroughly afterward, and let everything dry completely.
2 years for the base from the date of purchase and 6 months for the 3DXL Chamber. Glass is excluded, as are purchases from unauthorized retailers or marketplaces such as Amazon and eBay.








Comments
No comments yet. Be the first!
Sign in to comment